Home | Editions | People | Editorial Principles | Articles | Contact | Members | Basket

Detail from the autograph of the Cantata pastorale, 1716: Non sò qual più m'ingombra
Source: Musiksammlung der Staatsbibliothek, Berlin

Detail from the autograph score of Cantata da camera: Ombre tacite e sole, 31.10.1716
Source: British Library

Both the above cantatas are available for purchase through this site.
The Composer's Words
'I have marked ... at necessary places the louds and softs of the instruments, which are the only means of making that chiaroscuro which makes singing and playing attractive.'
(A. Scarlatti, on his opera, Il Gran Tamerlano 1706.)

Cantata Editions Catalogue

Simply click 'Add to basket' to purchase editions through Cantata Editions or, for more information, use the MIDI and Score preview links below each item in the catalogue.

Your search results

Your search has produced 3 results from the following composer

Scarlatti, Alessandro | Please scroll down to view...

Scarlatti, Alessandro (born Palermo, 2 May 1660; died Naples, 22 October 1725)

Cantata with obligato instrument(s)
  • Augellin vago e canoro
    Forces: soprano, 2 recorders & continuo
    Source: Santini Sammlung, Diözesan Library, Münster: Hs. 3975, ff. 35-59v
    The image of the caged bird appears frequently in vocal music of the Italian baroque – maybe a poignant image to the many castrati whose voice was itself the cage within which life was lived. In cantatas such as ‘Augellin’, the bird functions as symbol of the lover imprisoned by the pain of love unreturned.
    3 arias and two recits.

    Editor: Rosalind Halton
    MIDI Preview | Price: £ 5.95 | 

  • Mentre Clori la bella sotto l'ombra d'un mirto
    Forces: soprano, 2 flutes & continuo
    Clori is being very insensitive, sitting beneath her Myrtle tree and enjoying the breeze whilst Fileno is suffering all the torments of love! In RARARA format with two of the arias with 2 flutes accompaniment and 2 with ritornelli. A lovely piece with some very interesting use of harmony...
    Source: Münster Santini Sammlung Hs 3975(2)
    Range: d - a''

    Editor: James Sanderson
    MIDI Preview | Price: £ 5.95 | 

  • Quella pace gradita
    Forces: soprano, violin, flute, cello, cembalo
    This autograph cantata consists of 3 recitatives and 3 arias, with instrumental introduction for 2 paired groups - solo violin and cello, with answering recorder and harpsichord. Performance markings from the surviving partbooks have been incorporated. The unusual scoring gives each instrument in turn a starring role, ending with the recorder cooing of the turtle-dove in Aria 3.
    Source: Münster Santini Sammlung
    Range: d'-g''

    Editor: Rosalind Halton
    MIDI Preview | Price: £ 7.95 | 

Return to composer listing

Back | Continue shopping | Your shopping basket | Check Out | Search

Home | Editions | People | Editorial Principles | Articles | Contact | Members | Links
This site is a member of the Cantata Web | Click here to visit another site
Designed and hosted by Cantata Editions © 1998 - 2018. All rights reserved.